LMU Moot Court


Moot Court is an opportunity for students to develop their written and oral advocacy skills through an appellate simulation. LMU's Moot Court Board participates in competitions sponsored annually by various law schools, bar associations, and trial lawyer organizations.  Moot court provides interaction between students, faculty, and local attorneys which strengthens appellate advocacy skills and more specifically, one's ability to argue issues from both sides .​

Meetings & Events 

Executive Committee

Chief Justice - John Foster

Associate Chief Justice - Alyssa Rosenzweig

Associate Justice of Competition - Nolan Renfro

Associate Justice of Public Relations - Kassadi Mace

Associate Justice of Communications - Mitchell Davis

Meet Our Coaches 

Amanda Tonkin

Hon. Timothy Conner

Shanna Veach

Tiffany DiIorio 

Annual Competitions

E. Earle Zehmer National Competition

The E. Earle Zehmer Moot Court competition exposes students to Workers' Compensation law. Two teams consisting of one brief writer and two oral advocates will have the opportunity to go to Florida to compete in an appellate court simulation. Students will either write a brief or orally advocate both sides of the issue(s) in front of a panel of judges. This competition teaches students how to fine tune their arguments to fit a niche area of law (Workers' Compensation). This competition is offered every summer. 

Annual Civil Rights and Liberties (CRAL) Moot Court Competition

Emory University School of Law hosts the Civil Rights and Liberties (CRAL) Moot Court Competition. This competition was created in the hopes of inspiring each individual to reflect upon the role of civil rights and civil liberties in our society. As a competitor, you will learn how to  use your position as an advocate to further champion civil rights and liberties. 

This competition will give students an opportunity to sharpen their written and oral advocacy skills while learning how to navigate complex civil rights and liberties issues at the appellate level. The CRAL competition is offered most fall semesters. 

Leroy R. Hassell, Sr. National Constitutional Law Competition 

Regent Law hosts the annual Leroy R. Hassell, Sr. National Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition. This annual competition is named in honor of the late former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia. During his distinguished career, the former Chief Justice championed constitutional rights. He was a leader in equality, becoming the first African American Chief Justice of the Virginia Supreme Court. This competition allows participating law students to follow in the late Chief Justice Hassell's footsteps and become champions of constitutional rights. 

Law school students from around the nation who participate in this competition receive key insights from distinguished judges, attorneys, and professors to improve their oral and written advocacy skills. This competition is offered most fall semesters.

Billings, Exum, and Frye (BEF) National Competition

Elon University hosts  the the Billings, Exum and Frye (BEF) National Competition. This competition focuses on constitutional law issues and attempts to shed light on issues that are being brought before courts today.

Students will have the opportunity to write an appellate brief and/or orally advocate both sides of the issue(s) in front of a mock appellate court. This experience allows students to sharpen their advocacy skills and receive invaluable critique from practicing attorneys, seasoned professors, and distinguished judges. The BEF competition is offered most fall semesters. 

Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition

The Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition is a national competition held in New York City each spring that is named in memory of United States Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of New York Chief Judge Conrad B. Duberstein. Co-sponsored by the American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) and St. John's University School of Law, the competition focuses on and promotes complex and significant bankruptcy issues.  The competition includes both oral and written components, and each team consists of three members. This competition is offered every spring. 

National Appellate Advocacy Competition (NAAC)

The ABA Law Student Division NAAC is a moot court competition that emphasizes the development of written and oral advocacy skills through a realistic appellate advocacy experience. Moot court competitors participate in a hypothetical appeal to the United States Supreme Court. The competition involves writing a brief as either respondent or petitioner and then arguing the case, as both respondent and petitioner, in front of a panel of judges. This competition is offered every spring. 

1st Annual Matthew B. Long Intramural Competition 

The Lincoln Memorial University Duncan School of Law (LMU Law) is hosting its first moot court intramural competition this year in honor of LMU Law alumnus Matthew B. Long. Long died on July 19, 2020, at the age of 37. He graduated from LMU Law in 2013, where he served on LMU's Moot Court Board and won the second-place brief for the 2012 Elon BEF Moot Court Competition. While in law school, Long also served as an extern for Chief Justice Gary Wade of the Tennessee Supreme Court. Deeply passionate about litigating personal injury matters, he began his legal career at Gilreath & Associates in Knoxville and later moved to Nashville to open the Tennessee division of the Atlanta-based Roth Firm. In 2017, Long was nationally ranked as one of the top ten lawyers under 40 for excellence in the field of personal injury law. Long returned to Knoxville in August of 2019 to open his own law office. Long was a fierce advocate for victims and was a pillar in his community. He was active in the Tennessee Trial Lawyers Association and served for many years in the Knoxville Barristers and on the Functions Committee of the Knoxville Bar Association. In honor of Matt, his loved ones, and his memory, we are honored to start the annual tradition of the Matthew B. Long Moot Court Intramural Competition. 

Photo Gallery

Previous Chief Justices 

John Foster 2023-2024

Nadean Azzam 2022-2023

Adrienne Dunagan 2021-2022

Laura Doty 2020-2021

Courtney Barnes-Anderson 2019-2020